This week is your last chance to nominate yourself or someone else for position on the BJA Board of Directors. Please note that you must be a BJA member to serve on the board. Terms are two years. If you are interested in helping us with this essential work, we ask that you read this overview ( overview – 2015.docx), which outlines our achievements and the expectations for board members, and contact current (outgoing) president Mark Osteen at by November 23rd. | Read more>>
Saxophonist Kamasi Washington sits down with BJA board member and WEAA-FM Program Director Marcellus Bassman Shepard on the Cool Jazz Countdown to talk about his CD “The Epic”. | Read more>>
BJA Spreads the Word (JAZZ) at Artscape
For the twelfth year in a row BJA spread the word about Baltimore jazz at an Artscape booth. Despite temperatures that rose into the mid-90s, twenty-five BJA volunteers gave it their all. Thanks to the following volunteers, nine of whom were new (N) and six of whom took multiple shifts (*): Derrick Thompson, Alice Downs*, George Yost*, Sara Jerkins (N), Rhonda Robinson, Liz Fixsen, Vanessa Brooks (N), Mark Osteen, Rob Winter (N), Michael Raitzyk (N), Karen Yarn, Rhett Snead (N), Marshall Booze (N), Mary Fair (N), Ted Turkle (N), Steve Alpern, Carolyn Williams, David McGarvey*, Terry Koger, Ian Rashkin*, Bob Jacobson*, Vernard Gray (N), Robert Shahid, Todd Marcus* and Gloria Gantt. | Read more>>
Dr. Anthony Villa, BJA Thanks You!
The Baltimore Jazz Alliance would like to express its gratitude to Dr. Anthony Villa, Professor of Music at Loyola University Maryland, for creating and directing the BJA Big Band. The BJABB was Anthony’s brainchild. Its mission: to perform only original compositions or arrangements by Baltimore-area artists. | Read more>>
Grammy Award-winning saxophonist Gary Bartz
Grammy Award-winning saxophonist Gary Bartz is our BNY Mellon Jazz 2015 Living Legacy Award honoree. He will be presented with the Legacy Award at a special ceremony at The Kennedy Center this October. Previous honorees include Benny Golson, Dr. Billy Taylor, Oliver Lake, Jimmy Heath, and Kenny Barron, among others. | Read more>>